Lancashire Hall of Fame

Seven players became the inaugural inductees into the Lancashire Cricket Hall of Fame in February: A.N. Hornby, Cyril Washbrook CBE, Brian Statham CBE, Jack Bond, Farokh Engineer, Sir Clive Lloyd CBE and Jack Simmons MBE.

Further inductees will be selected each year, and all those honoured will be displayed in the new museum area at Emirates Old Trafford — which forms part of the stadium's upcoming redevelopment.

It was lovely to witness the first seven players being honoured at a special dinner held in the 1864 Suite at Emirates Old Trafford on Thursday 20 February. Inductees received a special Lancashire Cricket Hall of Fame cap at the dinner, with a commemorative booklet produced each year to recognise the latest inductees.

Lancashire Cricket Members can nominate players which will be taken into consideration, with a final decision being made by the Board. To be inducted into the Hall of Fame, players must be retired and not under current employment with the Club.

Warren Hegg, Head of Cricket Business for Lancashire Cricket, said: "We are thrilled to launch the Lancashire Cricket Hall of Fame, something which will allow us to preserve and promote the heritage of our great club.

"The Hall of Fame will see us pay tribute to players that have given so much to the club in years gone by, as we relive past glories and celebrate those who engineered some of the greatest moments in Red Rose folklore."

Malcolm Lorimer

Hall of Fame cards — a set of 7 special cards depicting each inductee and detailing their playing careers are now available. Click here for details

© 2001 - 2024 MaxBooks